Armstrong Atlantic State University

Armstrong State University is a four-year public university, part of the University System of Georgia. It is located on a 268-acre (1.08 km2) campus in suburban Savannah, Georgia, United States. The campus is approximately fifteen minutes from downtown Savannah and 25 miles (40 km) from Tybee Island beaches. Armstrong offers undergraduate and graduate degrees; it has a student enrollment of approximately 7,000 students, including close to 1,000 graduate students.

Armstrong was founded in 1935 by Thomas Gamble, mayor of Savannah, as Armstrong Junior College. The institution expanded into a four-year university in 1964.

Fielding athletic teams known as the Armstrong Pirates, the university competes at the NCAA Division II level as a member of the Peach Belt Conference. Armstrong's official colors are maroon and gold.

With approximately 7,000 students, Armstrong is just the right size for those who like the feel of a private college with the affordability, diversity and depth of academic offerings of a state university. Another fact to appreciate: Armstrong is well known for its one-on-one attention students receive from our dedicated and experienced faculty. 


The Armstrong Atlantic State University is a Public university located in Savannah.
The Armstrong Atlantic State University was founded in 1935.
The current president of Armstrong Atlantic State University is Linda M. Bleicken.
According to verified online sources, the Armstrong Atlantic State University enrolls a total of 15076 students.
According to the main website, the Armstrong Atlantic State University has a total student population of 7538 undergraduate students and 7538 graduate students.

Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in the United States.

Location of Armstrong Atlantic State University