Syracuse University

Syracuse University, often referred to as Syracuse, 'Cuse, or SU, is a private research university in Syracuse, New York.

Syracuse's roots can be traced to the Genesee Wesleyan Seminary, founded by the Methodist Episcopal Church in Lima, New York, in 1831. After several years of debate over relocating the college to Syracuse, the university was established in 1870, independent of the college. Since 1920, the university has identified itself as nonsectarian, although it maintains a relationship with The United Methodist Church.

The campus is located in the University Hill neighborhood of Syracuse, east and southeast of downtown, on one of the larger hills.

Its campus features an eclectic mix of buildings, ranging from nineteenth-century Romanesque Revival structures to contemporary buildings.

SU is organized into 13 schools and colleges. It features nationally recognized programs in information studies and library science, architecture, communications, business administration, inclusive education and wellness, sport management, public administration, engineering and the College of Arts and Sciences.

Syracuse University athletic teams, known as the Orange, participate in 20 intercollegiate sports. SU is a member of the Atlantic Coast Conference for all NCAA Division I athletics, except for the rowing team. SU is also a member of the Eastern College Athletic Conference.

Syracuse prides itself on being a private research university with extraordinary academics, distinctive offerings, and an undeniable spirit.

Syracuse prides itself on being ORANGE. Orange was voted the university's official color in 1890 and Syracuse believes that orange is a way of life, and not merely a color.

Students, like the color orange, are bold and stand out from the crowd. Syracuse believes that a single person can make an impact and that the Orange Family can change the world.

The 270-acre main campus is within easy driving distance of Toronto, Boston, Montreal, and New York City. Learning centers in New York City, Washington, D.C., Los Angeles, and abroad offer a rich mix of academic courses, alumni activities, and immersion programs.

Under the leadership of Kent Syverud, the University’s 12th Chancellor and president, Syracuse is recognized as a student-focused global research university renowned for academic rigor, richly diverse learning experiences, and a spirit of discovery.

The Syracuse University is a Private university located in Syracuse.
The Syracuse University was founded in 1870.
The current president of Syracuse University is Kent Syverud.
According to verified online sources, the Syracuse University enrolls a total of 45700 students.
According to the main website, the Syracuse University has a total student population of 22850 undergraduate students and 22850 graduate students.

Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in the United States.

Location of Syracuse University