West Virginia University

West Virginia University (WVU) is a public, land-grant, space-grant, research-intensive university in Morgantown, West Virginia, United States. Its other campuses include the West Virginia University Institute of Technology in Montgomery and Potomac State College of West Virginia University in Keyser; and a second clinical campus for the University's medical and dental schools at Charleston Area Medical Center in Charleston. WVU Extension Service provides outreach with offices in all of West Virginia's 55 counties. Since 2001, WVU has been governed by the West Virginia University Board of Governors. 

Enrollment for the fall 2013 semester was 29,466 for the main campus, while enrollment across all campuses totaled 32,348. WVU offers 191 bachelor's, master's, doctoral, and professional degree programs in 15 colleges. 

WVU has produced 24 Rhodes Scholars, including former WVU president David C. Hardesty, Jr. The University has also produced 36 Goldwater Scholars, 22 Truman Scholars, and five members of USA Today's "All‑USA College Academic First Team."

As a land-grant institution in the 21st century, WVU will deliver high-quality education, excel in discovery and innovation, model a culture of diversity and inclusion, promote health and vitality, and build pathways for the exchange of knowledge and opportunity between the state, the nation and the world.

The WVU Board of Governors is the governing body of WVU. The Higher Education Policy Commission in West Virginia is responsible for developing, establishing, and overseeing the implementation of a public policy agenda for the state’s four-year colleges and universities.

WVU students have been awarded 30 global scholarships and fellowships this academic year. These revered scholarships and fellowships to support dreams of researching and making contributions to science, discovering new languages, teaching abroad, studying different cultures and forming solutions to critical world issues. 

WVU is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Many WVU programs hold specialized accreditation.

The West Virginia University is a Public university located in Morgantown.
The West Virginia University was founded in 1867.
The current president of West Virginia University is E. Gordon Gee.
According to verified online sources, the West Virginia University enrolls a total of 58350 students.
According to the main website, the West Virginia University has a total student population of 29175 undergraduate students and 29175 graduate students.

Get Instant Information about the University

By clicking “Get Information Now,” I hereby authorize startuniversity.us, their dependents, subcontractors, or associates to contact me in regards to education proposals offered by universities in the United States.

Location of West Virginia University

Schools of West Virginia University